From Sea to Shining Sea!

We’ve lived in our apartment for 2 weeks now.  I only just started making calls to friends this past week- I thought I would be emotionally… fragile, I guess?  I thought it would make me really sad.  I think that’s part of why I haven’t updated the blog in a while, too.  I keep waiting for it all to hit me- the fact that we moved across the country, leaving our friends and family behind.  That we won’t have a “real” fall or snow this winter.  That we no longer have loads of free babysitting!  But we’re enjoying our apartment, our town, the gorgeous weather (the weather really is SO GLORIOUS!).   And I think that maybe we’re just fine!  It feels like home.

One of the perks of Patrick’s new job is that he has Fridays off.  So last Friday, we officially completed our coast to coast trip by dipping our toes in the Pacific Ocean.

IMG_1592 IMG_1610 IMG_1618 IMG_1636 IMG_1658

After a nice long morning nap for Peter, we quickly ate lunch before heading to Zuma Beach in Malibu.  The water was surprisingly cold, but Peter LOVED it.  The boy shrieked with glee every time a wave reached his chubby legs.  Patrick also enjoyed introducing Peter to the beach.  I can personally enjoy the beach.  Personally, like, by myself.  Or with adults.  Beach with a baby?  The verdict is still out.  I mean, yes, it is delightful to watch Peter discovering things for the first time.  But sand+water+baby=dirty, sandy baby.  When I changed his diaper later (like, much later, after the swimsuit had been taken off and a new diaper had been put on already), an entire beach-ful of sand came pouring out.  And you know, chubby babies have folds and crevices where things can hide.  Things like sand!  I’ll get over it.  I must, because we live in California, and Peter likes the beach.  The things we do for our children!  I’m (mostly) kidding.

One thought on “From Sea to Shining Sea!

  1. I always wonder why they love the beach so much when the trip home has to be so darn sandy/uncomfortable! But I’m excited that you’ve gotten into the Pacific =D I love you!

Leave a Reply

